虚拟现实

为了提供无缝的沉浸式或身临其境的体验,虚拟现实(VR)、增强现实(AR)和混合现实(MR)设备高度依赖近眼显示器(NED)的质量。AR/VR/MR显示器将视觉对象和信息投射到非常靠近人眼的位置,涵盖用户的全角度视野,确保放大由显示器的亮度和色彩变化产生的视觉细节,从而创建模拟的增强世界。然而,与人眼之间的这种接近度也放大了用户在远距离下观看时通常无法察觉的显示器缺陷。

细微的缺陷和异常可能包括:

  • 亮度或色彩不均匀
  • 对比度问题
  • Mura(云斑)
  • 线和像素缺陷
  • 视角差异
  • 图像残留/重影(或像素切换响应时间)

显示器缺陷对您用户的体验有重大影响,可能会妨碍可视化效果和设备可操作性。其他考虑因素还包括图像失真和双眼之间的不一致(色彩、角度和视差),这可能会进一步影响用户体验,并导致眼睛疲劳甚至晕动病。

要达到客户对产品质量的要求,必须具备先进的检测能力。Radiant Vision Systems是AR/VR显示器测试领域的引领者,在亮度和色度测量应用中提供最高的空间分辨率(可达2900万像素),用于检测、分类和防止细微的亮度均匀性问题及像素和亚像素缺陷。Radiant开发出了可以在众多方面复制人眼视觉反应的检测解决方案:

  • 视觉体验(沉浸式或穿透式)
  • 显示器类型(LCD、LCOS、OLED或DLP)
  • 投影几何(透射式、反射式或半透反射式设计)
  • 观看通道(单筒、双筒、双眼单筒)
  • 光学设计(不透明、鸟池式、自由空间、光导、波导、曲面镜或定制光学元件)

 

高分辨率、高像素密度显示器的测试

如今的近眼显示设备中集成了最高分辨率的LCD、OLED、LCOS、投影以及其他显示技术,每只眼睛可以看到更多的像素,从而促进用户实现身临其境的体验。同时,制造商也减少了头戴式显示器(HMD)等可穿戴设备的硬件尺寸,采用最新的微型显示技术来减轻重量和减少尺寸。由于这些显示器的微小区域内具有非常高的像素密度,您需要高分辨率的成像仪来评估设备的精确度和投影图像的清晰度。

Radiant的ProMetric系列成像色度计和亮度计提供200万至2900万像素的CCD传感器选项,用于捕捉超细微的像素间和像素内均匀性缺陷。这些CCD经过热电隔行制冷,以减少图像采集中的噪声,从而提高信噪比(SNR)以保证准确性,并确保最高质量的图像用于分析。

ProMetric成像仪可与专业光学元件轻松搭配使用,执行较小物体和视角的分析。Radiant的AR/VR镜头采用独特的光学设计,其可以在头戴式设备内复制人眼的瞳孔大小(3.6 mm)和眼睛位置(配备外部光圈,用于在头戴式设备镜头上定位成像入射光瞳)。结合水平视野到120度视角条件,这使得系统能够从人类用户的有利位置测量显示器。


ProMetric系统也同样可以用于测量头戴式设备外部的微型显示器,配备可互换的镜头,以满足各种工作距离和视角的测量需求。对于视角性能测量,Radiant的FPD锥光镜头能够在单一的测量点上评估显示器,达到0.06度/CCD像素的精度。该镜头可以采集亮度、辐射强度、角度对比度、CIE色度坐标和相关色温(CCT)数据,以确保在所有视角同时保持一致性。

相关链接:

产品信息: AR/VR镜头
产品信息: FPD 锥光镜头
博客: 确保您的显示器质量不再受视角性能问题的影响

 

测量增强投影

AR和MR显示器的投影叠加在用户的可见环境中,通过数字信息对现实世界进行补充。跟最新的汽车和航空航天技术中使用的平视显示器(HUD)一样,这些投影必须在各种位置和深度上无缝混合,并与用户视野范围内的物理元素互动。为确保正确运行,AR和MR投影需要精确控制位置、光线和色彩,以便用户能够在无限平面上观看。

与HUD不同的是,当投影不能正确地映射以实现视差时(考虑到双眼之间的水平距离),AR和MR显示器在视觉深度上极易出现误差。设备必须能够使投影图像的尺寸、形状和位置与每个镜头或每个显示器(在双筒设备的情况下)中所观看到的相匹配。物体的位置、亮度、色度和对比度是深度和位置相对于周边环境的关键基准。作为设计师或制造商,您必须能够控制每个因素,以确保所投影的内容足够明亮,能够让用户看到,同时也不会妨碍用户观看现实世界的视野。

ProMetric成像仪已经帮助SAE(汽车工程师协会)确定了汽车和航空航天行业HUD的基准测试参数,其中,投影数据的准确性是一个关键的安全因素。Radiant在这种高精度的视觉显示测量方面拥有丰富的专业知识,这些专业知识也同样适用于AR和MR显示器的测量。我们的成像仪可以测量投影到无限平面的物体,使用高灵敏度的CCD传感器定位投影到周围环境中的叠加物体。

ProMetric相机特色:

  • 电子控制镜头,允许您远程调整相机焦距和光圈设置。这些相机是业界唯一能够定位增强投影的相机。
  • 先进的软件算法,利用焦距设置来测量尺寸和位置,以确定实际测量中的物体“距离”,无需计算焦深。
  • 亮度和色度精度测量,以确定与环境有关的准确亮度(亮点或阴影),从而促进投影的可见性。
  • 基于定义的公差范围进行评估,包括亮度、色度和空间偏移。您可以准确地确定人造物体的位置、深度和尺寸。
  • 广泛的测试和模式库,如棋盘格模式,用于测量斜边对比度或调制传递函数(MTF),以确保物体的清晰性。

相关链接:

白皮书:满足SAE平视显示器(HUD)测量标准的自动化解决方案

 

AR/VR显示器测试软件工具

Radiant的TrueTest™ 软件平台可以帮助AR/VR设计师和制造商维持任何发光显示器技术的质量。TrueTest包含领先的显示器测试算法,可用于绝对亮度和色度表征与分析。标准测试包括:

  • 均匀性
  • 渐变性
  • 线缺陷
  • 像素缺陷
  • ANSI亮度
  • ANSI色彩
  • 对比度
  • 一系列Mura(瑕疵)测试

Radiant还提供专门的测试套件用于AR/VR显示器分析,包括:

  • 斜边对比度(基于ISO 12233标准进行MTF测量)
  • 图像失真(用于失真表征)
  • 图像残留/重影
  • 以度数(°)表示X,Y位置

这些测试经过专门开发,以满足AR/VR显示器测试的独特要求,让您能够确保高分辨率显示器在近眼观看条件下的亮度和色度质量及图像精度。

 

      
Radiant的AR/VR镜头能够在头戴式显示设备内复制人眼瞳孔位置,以采集到用户使用集成式高分辨率显示器时所观看到的完全可见视野。
 

工厂失真校正

Radiant提供的每套系统出厂时,都针对独特的测量应用进行了校正(采用客户指定的滤光片、光学元件和其他参数),以确保系统在您的生产设施内用于测量时能够可靠地采集到绝对数据。针对AR/VR显示器测量开发的光学解决方案的一个常见影响在于,用于对显示器进行完整测量的宽视场光学元件所采集的图像存在固有失真。出厂时,Radiant对每套相机/镜头解决方案都进行了失真校正,以确保交付给您进行测量应用的系统能够采集到标准化图像用于测试。

      
在工厂进行失真校正之前和之后,相机/镜头解决方案分别采集的宽视场图像。每套系统的失真校正消除了宽视场图像中的镜头影响,以确保软件在测试之前能够采集到准确的空间数据。
 

无论您在哪里,我们都能提供全面的项目支持

凭借遍及美国、欧洲、中国、日本和韩国的全球销售、技术支持和工程资源网络,我们的本地专业人员在这里能够从头到尾全程跟踪您的项目。Radiant的产品组合包括可配置的软件、模块化成像系统和各种配件,作为您的单一解决方案提供商,解决您的测试和测量应用中各个方面的需求。无论您是需要用于研发、质量控制或生产的系统,还是需要涵盖整个设备制造周期的系统,我们的员工都能与您密切合作,为您指定和实施独特的解决方案,并在您的系统部署完毕后一直提供技术支持。

Virtual Reality

Virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), and mixed reality (MR) devices rely on the quality of near-eye displays (NEDs) to deliver a seamless immersive or integrated experience. AR/VR/MR displays project visual objects and information in close proximity to the human eye—encompassing the user’s entire angular field of view—so that visual details created by variations in the brightness and color of the display are magnified to create simulated and augmented worlds. However, this proximity also magnifies what would be unnoticeable display defects if seen at a distance.

Subtle defects and anomalies can include:

  • Non-uniformities in brightness or color
  • Contrast issues
  • Mura (cloudiness)
  • Line & pixel defects
  • View angle differences
  • Image retention/sticking (or pixel switching response time)

Display defects have a critical impact on your users’ experience, potentially obstructing visualization and device operability. Additional considerations include image distortion and inconsistencies from eye to eye (color, angle, parallax), which can further impact user experience and result in eye strain or even motion sickness.

It requires sophisticated inspection capabilities to achieve the product quality customers demand. Radiant Vision Systems is a pioneer in display testing for AR/VR technology, offering the highest spatial resolution in light and color measurement (to 29MP) for detecting, classifying, and preventing subtle light uniformity issues and pixel and sub-pixel defects. Radiant has developed inspection solutions that replicate the human eye’s visual response in a wide range of:

  • Visual experiences (immersive or see-through)
  • Display types (LCD, LCOS, OLED, or DLP)
  • Projection geometries (transmissive, reflective, or transflective designs)
  • Viewing channels (monocular, binocular, or bi-ocular)
  • Optical design (opaque, bird bath, free space, light guide, waveguide, curved mirror, or custom optics)

 

High-Resolution, High-Density Display Testing

The highest-resolution LCD, OLED, LCOS, projection, and other display technologies are integrated into today’s near-eye display devices, with more pixels per eye contributing to the realism of the user experience. Manufacturers are also reducing hardware size for wearables like head-mounted display (HMD) devices, employing the latest microdisplay technology to reduce weight and size. With such high pixel densities within the tiny area of these displays, you need high resolution imagers to evaluate device accuracy and projected image clarity.

Radiant’s ProMetric series of imaging colorimeters and photometers offer options from 2- to 29-megapixel CCD sensors for capturing ultra-fine inner- and intra-pixel uniformity defects. These CCDs are thermoelectrically interline-cooled to reduce noise in image capture, increasing signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for accuracy, and ensuring the highest-quality images for analysis.

ProMetric imagers can be paired easily with specialized optics to perform small-object and view angle analyses. Radiant’s AR/VR lens features an optical design that replicates the human pupil size (3.6 mm) and eye position within headsets (with an external aperture for positioning the imaging entrance pupil at the headset lens). This, combined with a horizontal field-of-view to 120 degrees, enables the system to measure the display from the vantage point of a human user.

The same ProMetric system can be used to measure micro displays outside of a headset, with interchangeable lenses that accommodate measurement over a wide range of working distances and view angles. For view angle performance measurement, Radiant’s conoscope lens evaluates displays to 0.06 degrees per CCD pixel at a single measurement point. The lens captures luminance, radiance, angular contrast, CIE chromaticity coordinates, and correlated color temperature (CCT) for consistency across all viewing angles simultaneously.

Related Links:

Product Information: AR/VR Lens
Product Information: Conoscope Lens
Blog: The Quality of Your Display Shouldn’t Be a Matter of Perspective

 

Measuring Augmented Projections

Projections of AR and MR displays are superimposed over a user’s visible surroundings to supplement the real world with digital information. As with head-up displays (HUDs) used in the latest automotive and aerospace technologies, these projections must seamlessly blend and interact with physical elements in view at a variety of locations and depths. To function correctly, AR and MR projections require precise control of position, light, and color for viewing on an infinite plane.

Unlike HUDs, AR and MR displays are extremely susceptible to errors in visual depth when projections are not mapped correctly for parallax (accounting for the horizontal distance from eye to eye). Devices must be able to match the size, shape, and position of projected images as viewed in each lens—or in each display in the case of binocular devices). Object position, brightness, color, and contrast are critical benchmarks of depth and location relative to surroundings. As a designer or manufacturer, you must be able to control each factor to ensure that projected content is bright enough to be seen, but also does not obstruct the user’s view of the real world.

ProMetric imagers have helped to define the baseline SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) testing parameters for HUDs in the automotive and aerospace industry, where the accuracy of projected data is a critical safety factor. Radiant’s expertise with this level of precision visual display measurement is equally applicable to AR and MR displays. Our imagers can measure objects projected into infinity, using highly-sensitive CCD sensors to locate superimposed objects projected into an ambient environment.

ProMetric cameras feature:

  • Electronically controlled lenses that allow you to remotely adjust camera focus and aperture settings. These cameras are uniquely capable of locating augmented projections
  • Advanced software algorithms that use focal settings to measure size and position to determine object “distance” in real-world measurements without the need for focal depth calculation
  • Light and color accuracy measurements to determine accurate brightness (highlights or shadows) in respect to the environment, contributing to the projection’s visibility
  • Evaluation against defined tolerances for luminance, color, and spatial offset. You can accurately determine an artificial object’s location, depth, and size
  • Library of tests and patterns such as checkerboard patterns to measure slant edge contrast or modulation transfer function (MTF) to ensure object clarity

Related Links:

White Paper: Automated Solutions for SAE Standard HUD Measurement

 

Software Tools for AR/VR Display Testing

Radiant’s TrueTest™ Software platform helps AR/VR designers and manufacturers to maintain quality for any illuminated display technology. TrueTest includes the leading display test algorithms for absolute luminance and chromaticity characterization and analysis. Standard tests include:

  • Uniformity
  • Gradient
  • Line Defects
  • Pixel Defects
  • ANSI Brightness
  • ANSI Color
  • Contrast
  • A range of mura (blemish) tests

Radiant also offers a specialized test suite for AR/VR display analysis that includes:

  • Slant Edge Contrast (for MTF measurement based on ISO 12233)
  • Image Distortion (for distortion characterization)
  • Image Retention/Sticking
  • X,Y position given in degrees (°)

These tests have been developed to meet the unique requirements of AR/VR display testing, allowing you to achieve light and color quality and image accuracy for high-resolution displays viewed near-to-eye.

 

      

Radiant’s AR/VR lens replicates the human pupil position within headsets to capture the full visible field of view of integrated, high-resolution displays, as viewed by the user.

 

Factory Distortion Calibration

Every system Radiant provides is calibrated for a unique measurement application (utilizing customer-specified filters, optics, and other parameters) here at our factory to ensure that absolute data is reliably captured when the system is used for measurement at your facility. A common effect of optical solutions developed for AR/VR display measurement is inherent distortion in images captured by wide-field-of-view optics that are used for full display measurement. Radiant performs factory distortion calibration on each camera/lens solution to ensure that the system delivered to you for your measurement application will capture normalized images for testing.
 

      

Wide-field-of-view images taken by a camera/lens solution before and after factory distortion calibration. Distortion calibration of each system eliminates lens effects in wide-field-of-view images to ensure accurate spatial data is acquired by the software before testing.

 

Complete Project Support, No Matter Where You Are

With a global network of sales, technical support, and engineering resources located across the United States, Europe, China, Japan, and Korea, our local professionals are here to see your project through from start to finish. Radiant’s portfolio includes configurable software, modular imaging systems, and accessories, giving you a single solutions provider to address all aspects of your test and measurement application. Whether you need a system for R&D, quality control, or production – or systems throughout the complete device manufacturing cycle – our staff partners with you to specify and implement your unique solution, and offers technical support long after your system is deployed.