近红外光感测

近红外(NIR)光覆盖大约780至2500纳米(nm)的电磁波谱波长范围,这超出了人类视觉感知的范围。基于近红外光的感测应用为机器提供有关物理环境中相关物体的信息。当近红外光被发射并从物体反射出去时,近红外光传感器将接收反射光或光模式,以测量3D世界中物体的距离、大小和位置并识别物体特征。

近红外光是3D感测应用的理想选择,因为它对人眼是不可见的,这使其在投射到用户脸部或眼部或者周边环境时不会引起注意。适当的滤波可以消除近红外光感测设备的可见光谱,提高环境光线条件或雨、雾等能见度较差条件下的感测可靠性。然而,由于人眼对近红外光没有反应,因此测量近红外光LED和激光器的发射对于确保人类及周边环境3D感测的安全性和准确性至关重要。

Radiant ProMetric®成像辐射计可通过在单个图像中采集光源的完整角度分布数据来进行分析,大大简化近红外光光源的测量过程。Radiant NIR近红外光测量系统用户可显著受益于将基于CCD的高分辨率辐射计、光学组件与用于常见分析的软件测试库相结合的总承包解决方案。Radiant TrueTest™ 软件平台中的软件测试包括通过/未通过参数和自定义输出,并且可以按顺序运行,以对面部和手势识别、眼动跟踪及其他基于近红外光的3D感测应用中所采用的光源高效进行表征和质量测量。

解决方案:

近红外光光谱

近红外光覆盖大约780至2500纳米(nm)的电磁波谱波长范围,这超出了人类视觉可见光谱的范围。

常见应用:



面部识别


手势识别


眼动追踪


车载LiDAR

按波长分类的应用

- 780 nm
- 850 nm
- 905 nm
- 930-950 nm
- 1040-1060 nm
- 1550 nm
眼动追踪
夜视,监控摄像头
短程车载LiDAR(ADAS,自动驾驶车辆)
面部和手势识别
地面测绘,LiDAR系统
远程车载LiDAR(ADAS,自动驾驶车辆)

行业标准

近红外光光源安全监管标准包括:

  • IEC 62471标准,适用于所有光源,美洲、亚洲和欧洲采用
  • IEC 60825-1 标准,适用于激光器,包括任何近红外光激光器
  • 美国政府工业卫生学家会议(ACGIH)物理因子安全限量(TLV)(包括“激光、光线和近红外光辐射”)

NIR 光源类型 

  • LEDs
    • 近红外光“泛光”照明中使用的光源
    • 短程接近感测和飞行时间(ToF)测量应用中使用的光源
  • 激光器  
    • 用于创建通过衍射光学元件(DOE)产生的结构光模式(有时称为“点阵模式”)所使用的光源
    • 远程接近感测和飞行时间(ToF)测量应用中使用的光源

近红外光LED光源

近红外光LED用于远程控制、面部识别、监控摄像头、医疗器械等设备中。LED有利于近红外光感测,因为它们投射分布广泛的近红外光,在3D空间感测区域中无间隙覆盖较大的视场。

角度分布测量

由于近红外光发射可能对人类视觉造成危害,因此必须测量近红外光光源的所有角度分布点。如果在测量过程中遗漏任何分布点,则可能意味着遗漏异常强烈的发射,这可能对用户造成极大的危害,特别是在随着时间推移的情况下。

通常采用一种称为测角仪的系统,通过在光电探测器或相机前面旋转近红外光光源来采集近红外光发射的2D图像,以评估每个角度的辐射强度(以瓦数/球面度(W/sr)为单位测量)。此过程很耗时,需要旋转数千次才能采集完整的角度测量数据。

此外,还可以采用配备傅里叶光学系统的辐射测量相机从单个点采集角度发射数据,从而消除了旋转设备的需要。来自Radiant的NIR近红外光辐射强度测量镜头解决方案将傅里叶光学镜头与1600万像素CCD辐射计结合使用,通过单次2D极坐标测量采集±70度范围的3D光线发射,准确度达到0.05度/CCD像素。这种紧凑的系统降低了测角仪测量角度光线分布通常所需的成本,并减少了复杂性。


极坐标图和分段截线图显示由Radiant NIR近红外光辐射强度测量镜头采集并在TT-NIRI软件中分析的近红外光LED的辐射强度数据(作为角度函数)。

“泛光光源”分析

物体感测可能依赖于强烈的近红外光闪光(有时称为“泛光”分布),可用于检测物体的存在性并确定距离,即使在黑暗中也是如此。这些功能通常用于面部识别以确定面部的距离,这使设备能够基于所接收的近红外光反射的变形来准确地计算面部曲率。

飞行时间(ToF)方法基于信号发射(比如:近红外光泛光脉冲)与传感器接收信号反射之间的时间差来测量设备与物体之间的距离。近红外光对于飞行时间测量特别有效,因为它可与环境光线分离,从而减少信号干扰并提高低亮度或夜间条件下的准确度。在面部识别应用中,飞行时间提供高度准确的深度和空间测量。

跟所有近红外光发射一样,必须对用于飞行时间功能的发射进行测试,以确保它们符合定义的安全和性能参数。需要识别和校正各种异常情况,比如热斑、整个分布周边内的辐射强度下降等,以确保采用近红外光光源进行的接近感测的准确性。

Radiant的NIR近红外光辐射强度测量镜头解决方案提供泛光光源分析(全宽/半宽)测试,用于测量平均功率(辐射强度、最大功率、上升沿值和下降沿值)。


 

Radiant TT-NIRI软件模块中显示的近红外光光源的泛光光源分析测量。在这里,光线通过方形漫射器脉冲发射,以产生具有均匀辐射强度的分布。分段截线图显示了光源发射模式边缘处的辐射强度峰值及下降。

近红外光激光器

近红外光发射也可通过垂直腔面发射激光器(VCSEL)产生,用于光纤通信、车载LiDAR、手势或面部识别等应用。虽然近红外光LED通常成本较便宜,但近红外光激光器具有多种优点,这些优点推动其得到快速普及。近红外光激光器在接近感测和自动对焦方面性能更佳; 举例来说,它们可以被更精确地定向和反射,用于面部和手势识别应用。

由于激光具有空间相干性和聚焦性,激光可以穿过较小的开口,这使其易于通过衍射光学元件(DOE)集成和控制。凭借卓越的深度测量和测绘功能,近红外光激光器支持3D成像解决方案,将结构光(以定义模式投射的光)和ToF方法用于面部识别等应用。

结构光点阵模式分析

为了产生结构光模式,可通过一种称为衍射光学元件(DOE)的光学组件投射单束近红外光激光发射。衍射光学元件将激光分成多个发射点,这些发射点将网格中由微小的不可见点组成的阵列投射到3D物体上,比如人脸。当来自每个点的光线从物体表面反射回来并由近红外光传感器接收时,设备将计算点阵模式中的变形,以确定物体的轮廓。实际上,近红外光结构光网格创建了物体3D特征的“示意图”。结构光感测是生物识别监控应用中常用的方法,比如用于智能手机的面部识别设备及其他受防护设备或媒介。

 





TT-NIRI软件模块可自动识别和计数结构光模式中的每个点,将其作为关注点,并输出每个点的数据,比如倾角、方位角和辐射强度(W/sr)。

通过测量衍射光学元件产生的结构光模式,可确保准确且安全地感测3D物体的独特可识别特征。必须准确地定位结构光模式中的每个点,并按照指定的辐射强度发射,以确保其能够正确地反射到设备的近红外光传感器,并正确解读以识别个体。

无论结构光模式或者光点位置、形状或尺寸如何,Radiant的辐射测量解决方案都可自动识别每个光点的关注点,并输出每个光点的位置角度(方位角,倾角)、最大强度、均匀性和辐射通量等数据。TT-NIRI软件中将报告完整的点光源分析数据,包括最大峰值(辐射强度最大的发射器)位置(x,y)、最大峰值倾角/方位角、最大峰值平均值、最大峰值立体角、最大峰值点处的像素数量、点功率均匀性(各点之间)、总辐射通量和DOE辐射通量(减去背景峰值)。

相关链接:

NIR近红外光辐射强度测量镜头
TT-NIRI™软件测试模块
视频介绍: NIR近红外光辐射强度测量介绍介绍
技术文章: Measuring NIR Sources for Safe and Accurate 3D Sensing
演示文稿: NIR近红外光辐射强度测量镜头

Near-Infrared Sensing

Near-Infrared Sensing

Near-infrared (NIR) light covers wavelengths of the electromagnetic spectrum from approximately 750 to 2500 nanometers (nm), which is beyond human visual perception. NIR-based sensing  provides machines with information about objects in the physical environment. When NIR light is emitted and reflected off of an object, an NIR sensor receives the reflected light or light pattern to gauge the distance, size, location, and identifying features of objects in the three-dimensional world.

NIR light is ideal for 3D sensing applications because it is invisible to the human eye, making it unnoticeable when cast into a user’s face, eyes, or environment. Proper filtering can remove the visible light spectrum for NIR sensing devices, increasing reliability for sensing in ambient light conditions or poor visibility conditions like rain or fog. However, because the human eye does not respond to NIR light, it is important to measure the emissions from NIR LEDs and lasers that will be used for 3D sensing of humans and their environments.

Radiant ProMetric® Imaging Radiometers greatly simplify the process of measuring NIR light sources by capturing complete angular light source distributions in a single image for analysis. Users of Radiant NIR measurement systems benefit from turnkey solutions combining high-resolution, CCD-based radiometers, optical components, and software test libraries for common analyses. Software tests in Radiant’s TrueTest™ Software platform include pass/fail parameters and custom output, and can be run in sequence to efficiently characterize and qualify light sources used for facial & gesture recognition, eye tracking, and other NIR-based 3D sensing applications.

Explore Solutions:

Near-Infrared Light Spectrum

The NIR range covers approximately 750 to 2500 nanometers of the electromagnetic spectrum, which is outside of the visible light spectrum for human vision.
 

Common Applications:



Facial Recognition


Gesture Recognition


Eye Tracking


Automotive LiDAR

Applications by Wavelength

- 780 nm
- 850 nm
- 905 nm
- 930-950 nm
- 1040-1060 nm
- 1550 nm
Eye Tracking
Night Vision, Security Cameras
Short-range Automotive LiDAR (ADAS, Autonomous Vehicles)
Facial, Gesture Recognition
Terrestrial Mapping, LiDAR Systems
Long-range Automotive LiDAR (ADAS, Autonomous Vehicles)

Industry Standards

Safety standards governing NIR light sources include:

Radiant’s near-IR measurement solutions characterize the output of NIR sources, providing manufacturers with data that may be useful when testing to these standards.

Types of NIR Light Sources

  • LEDs
    • Light sources used in NIR “flood” illumination
    • Light sources used in short-range proximity and time-of-flight (ToF) applications
  • Lasers
    • Light sources used to create structured light patterns (sometimes called “dot patterns”) produced by diffractive optical elements (DOE)
    • Light sources used in long-range proximity sensing and ToF applications
       

Near-IR LEDs

NIR LEDs are used in devices from remote controls and facial recognition systems, to security cameras and medical instruments. LEDs are advantageous for NIR sensing because they cast a wide distribution of NIR light, covering a large field of view without gaps in 3D spatial sensing area.

Angular Distribution Measurement

Because NIR emissions can be dangerous to human vision, all angular distribution points of an NIR source must be measured. Missing any point during measurement may mean missing an irregularly strong emission that could prove hazardous to the user, especially over time.

Typically, a system called a goniometer is employed to rotate an NIR light source in front of a photodetector or a camera to capture 2D images of emissions to evaluate radiant intensity at each angle (measured in watts per steradian, W/sr). This process is time-consuming, requiring thousands of rotations to capture a complete angular measurement.

Alternatively, a radiometric camera combined with Fourier optics captures angular emission data from a single point, eliminating the need to rotate the device. The NIR Intensity Lens solution from Radiant combines a Fourier-optic lens with a 16-megapixel CCD-based radiometer to capture 3D light emissions across ±70 degrees in a single 2D polar measurement, with accuracy to 0.05 degrees per CCD pixel. This compact system reduces the cost and complexity typically required by goniometers to measure angular light distributions.
 



Polar plot and cross section showing radiant intensity (as a function of angle) of an NIR LED, captured by the Radiant NIR Intensity Lens and analyzed in TT-NIRI Software.

“Flood” Source Analysis

Object sensing may rely on a strong flash of NIR light (sometimes referred to as “flood” distribution) used to detect the presence the object and determine distance, even in darkness. These functions are commonly used in facial recognition to determine the distance of a face, which allows the device to accurately calculate facial curvature based on deformations of received NIR light reflections.

Time-of-flight (ToF) methods measure the distance between a device and an object based on the time difference between the emission of a signal (such as an NIR flood pulse) and when the signal’s reflection is received by the sensor. NIR light is particularly effective for ToF measurement because it can be separated from ambient light, reducing signal disturbance and improving accuracy in low light or nighttime conditions. In facial recognition applications, ToF provides highly accurate depth and spatial measurement.

Like all NIR emissions; emissions used for ToF functions must be tested to ensure they adhere to defined performance parameters. Irregularities such as hot spots or a fall-off of intensity around the perimeter of the distribution need to be identified and corrected to ensure accurate proximity sensing by NIR sources.

Radiant’s NIR Lens solution provides Flood Source Analysis (distribution full width/half width), measuring the average power (intensity, maximum power, rising-edge, and falling-edge values).
 



Flood Source Analysis measurement for an NIR source shown in Radiant’s TT-NIRI Software module. Here, light is pulsed through a square diffuser to create a distribution with uniform intensity. The cross-section graph shows peaks of intensity and fall-off at the edges of the source’s emission pattern.

Near-IR Lasers

NIR emissions are also produced by vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) for applications such as optical fiber telecommunication, automotive LiDAR, and gesture or facial recognition. While NIR LEDs are typically less expensive, NIR lasers offer advantages that are driving their rapid adoption. NIR lasers are better at proximity sensing and autofocus; for example, they can be directed and reflected with greater precision for facial and hand-gesture recognition.

Because of its spatial coherence and focus, laser light can pass through small openings, making it easy to integrate and manipulate through diffractive optical elements (DOE). NIR lasers enable 3D imaging solutions with superior depth measurement and mapping capabilities, using structured light (light projected in a defined pattern) and ToF approaches for applications such as facial identification.

Structured Light Dot Pattern Analysis

To produce a structured light pattern, a single NIR laser emission is projected through an optical component called a diffractive optical element, or DOE. A DOE splits the laser into multiple emission points, which cast an array of tiny invisible dots in a grid onto a 3D object, such as a person’s face. When the light from each dot is reflected back from the object surface and received by the NIR sensor, the device calculates deformations in the pattern to determine the contours of the object. Effectively, the NIR structured light grid creates a “map” of an object’s 3D features. Structured light sensing is a common method used in biometric security such as facial recognition devices for smart phones and other protected devices or media.
 

 






The TT-NIRI Software module automatically identifies and counts each dot in a structured light pattern as a point of interest, outputting data on each dot such as inclination, azimuth, and radiant intensity (W/sr).

Measuring patterns produced by DOE ensures accurate and safe sensing of a 3D object’s unique identifiable features. Each dot in a pattern must be accurately positioned and emitted with the intended radiant intensity to ensure it is properly reflected to a device’s NIR sensor and interpreted correctly to identify the individual.

Regardless of the structured light pattern or dot position, shape, or size, Radiant’s radiometric measurement solution automatically identifies points of interest for each dot and outputs data for each dot’s angle of location (azimuth, inclination), maximum intensity, uniformity, and flux. Full dot source analytics are reported in TT-NIRI Software, including maximum peak (strongest emitter) location at x,y, maximum peak inclination/azimuth, maximum peak average, maximum peak solid angle, number of pixels at maximum peak point, spot power uniformity (between dots), total flux, and DOE flux (subtracting the background peak).

Related Links:

NIR Intensity Lens
TT-NIRI Software Module
Video: NIR Intensity Lens Introduction
Article: Measuring NIR Sources for Safe and Accurate 3D Sensing
Presentation: NIR Intensity Lens